TV & Movies

Why You Should Care About Phase 4 Of The Marvel Cinematic Universe

By Jessica Best
22nd Jul 2019

If your feed is looking a little packed with all things Marvel at the moment, there’s a reason. Over the weekend, the annual San Diago Comic-Con (SDCC) was held and there was no panel that caused more of a stir than the 90-minute address from Marvel Studios' president Kevin Feige.

Yep, SDCC wasn’t just all things Westworld, Star Trek and Warner Bros. drama this year. Taking front and centre, the House of Ideas dropped some big news for Marvel Studios’ Phase 4 during its Hall H revelations which included the announcement of six new movies, five shows and a heap of new projects planned for Disney+ set to be rolled out over the next two years.

So what exactly went down? Here’s everything to know about MCU’s Phase 4.

Why All The Hype Around Phase 4 Of The Marvel Cinematic Universe?

In the lead up to SDCC’s 50th anniversary event, Marvel did little to promote Phase 4 so this was the first time fans were able to confirm anything about what’s locked in the pipeline for MCU. This looked like 11 brand new projects; six movies and five TV shows which will stream exclusively on Disney+ and consist of a combination of much-anticipated sequels, prequels and MCU’s first official “horror”.

Comparatively, Phase 4 has also embraced a whole new realm of on-screen inclusivity to that of its counterparts (Phase 1, Phase 2 and Phase 3). Taking a 180-degree turn from its initial slew of films which headed Chris Pratt, Chris Evans and Chris Hemsworth, Marvel’s next generation of movies and shows has captured an array of talent that spans people of colour, women, different ethnicities and identities (LGBtQ+) in big roles.

That means this time around, you’ll find deaf actress Lauren Ridloff, Marvel’s first-ever Asian lead Simu Liu, Natalie Portman as Thor, Oscar-winning Mahershala Ali in the rebooted Blade and Tessa Thompsons Valkyrie as MCU’s first queer Marvel hero.

So, What’s Actually In The Marvel Cinematic Universe Pipeline?

As for all the titles to expect, scope out all of MCU’s upcoming movies and TV shows below.

The Eternals

Marvel Studios’ The Eternals will star Richard Madden as Ikaris, Kumail Nanjiani as Kingo, Lauren Ridloff as Makkari, Brian Tyree Henry as Phastos, Salma Hayek as Ajak, Lia McHugh as Sprite, Don Lee as Gilgamesh and Angelina Jolie as Thena. The Eternals, which will be directed by Chloé Zhao, will come to theatres November 6, 2020.

The Falcon And The Winter Soldier

The first show coming exclusively to Disney+ is Marvel Studios’ The Falcon and The Winter Soldier and will come to Disney+ in 2020.

Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings

Next up is a classic Marvel Comics character making his movie debut. Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings will star Simu Liu in the title role and appearing alongside Liu will be Awkwafina in an undisclosed role and Tony Leung as the (real) Mandarin. Marvel Studios’ Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings will be directed by Destin Daniel Cretton and will hit theatres February 12, 2021.


Marvel Studio’s WandaVision is an original series starring Elizabeth Olsen and Paul Bettany, reprising their MCU roles as Wanda Maximoff/Scarlet Witch and Vision. Costarring with them is Teyonah Parris, whom Feige revealed would be playing the adult Monica Rambeau, who was introduced as a child in Marvel Studios' Captain Marvel. Marvel Studios’ WandaVision will arrive on Disney+ in 2021.


The MCU's favourite trickster Loki will also make his way to Disney+ in an original series starring Tom Hiddleston. Expect this one to drop in 2021.

Doctor Strange In The Multiverse Of Madness

Marvel Studios’ Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness will star Benedict Cumberbatch as Stephen Strange with Scott Derrickson returning as director. In a twist, the events of Doctor Strange in the Multiverse of Madness will connect with the Disney+ series Marvel Studios' WandaVision and is Marvel’s first official horror. This one will hit cinemas May 7, 2021.  


The legacy of the WHAT IF...? comics is locked for a screen adaptation and will be the first animated series in the MCU. This gem will star Jeffrey Wright as the voice of The Watcher – many actors from across the MCU will reprise their roles as voice talent. What If…? will present alternate realities in the Marvel Universe and will drop in 2021, exclusively on Disney+.


Another character from the MCU will appear on the small screen: Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye, set to star Jeremy Renner. Marvel Studios’ Hawkeye will come to Disney+ in 2021.

Thor: Love And Thunder

It was also revealed that Natalie Portman will return to the MCU in Thor: Love And Thunder. Taika Waititi returns as director, and he confirmed that Jane Foster will become the Mighty Thor, goddess of Thunder. Marvel Studios’ Thor: Love and Thunder will arrive in cinemas November 5, 2021.

Black Widow

Marvel Studios’ Black Widow will see Scarlett Johansson reprising her MCU role. She will be joined by David Harbour as Alexei AKA The Red Guardian, Florence Pugh as Yelena, O-T Fagbenle as Mason, and Rachel Weisz as Melina. Cate Shortland is directing. Marvel Studios’ Black Widow will come to cinemas May 1, 2020.


And if all this massive Marvel Studios news wasn't enough... Kevin Feige introduced Mahershala Ali as Blade. A theatre date for this one hasn’t been confirmed yet so stay tuned.

And here's everything to catch you up on Disney+.

Image credit: Marvel

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.