Pull Out The Maps, Here’s A Definitive List Of Which Borders Are Open In The Country

By Rick Stephens
18th Jun 2020

A man standing by his van, parked on the side of the road under the hot Australian sun.

After months of virtual cooking masterclasses, socially-distanced walk dates and unnecessary tiffs with fellow residents of your household, Australia is now seeing some borders reopen. 

Proceed with caution, and take a look at this definitive list of when (and where) you can (and can’t) travel to within the country.


Victorian borders are open, which means there is no permit or approval needed to enter the state. This also means there’s no obligation to self-isolate once you’ve entered the state. 

Along with open borders, Melbourne’s diverse restaurant scene is also opening back up with heightened health and safety measures in place. Check out the big names and back doors reopening here.

New South Wales

New South Wales’ borders are also open, so you can enter without the need for a permit or approval; you also won’t need to quarantine once entering the state. Some surrounding states’ rules will differ, so take note depending on where you’re headed.

If you’re taking an intrastate trip, or travelling from Victoria, support small business and stop by one of New South Wales’ best country bakeries.

Australian Capital Territory

The Australian Capital Territory’s borders are open, and you don’t need to self-isolate if you enter the state. No applications or permits are required, either.


Right now, Queensland’s borders are closed, but there’s been a lot of talk that they’ll reopen on Friday 10 July. There are some exceptions for those who are considered essential workers or for people living in border communities. 

The push to reopen borders comes to revitalise tourism in the country, with Queensland being a major holiday destination for many Australians. 

If you live in the sunny state, explore your own backyard and discover these epic destinations.

Western Australia  

Aside from a few exemptions, Western Australia's borders are closed. No date has been put forward on when this will change as yet, however, it’s suggested the West Australian government will make an announcement in the coming weeks.

The West Australian government is encouraging residents to ‘wander out yonder’ within the state. If that’s you, why not check out Denmark down south?

Northern Territory 

Right now, you can travel to the Northern Territory from other parts of Australia, but you must self-isolate for 14 days and adhere to firm restrictions. You can find out more information on the Northern Territory’s border restrictions here.  

South Australia

South Australian borders are open to residents of Western Australia, Northern Territory and Tasmania. In the hope to minimise risk of COVID-19 spiking in the state, the rest of the country will have to wait until at least Monday 20 July to enter South Australia.


Currently, Australians can cross Tasmanian borders, but they must quarantine for 14 days in government-managed accommodation. Restrictions and regulations are in place, and they can be found here.

Find out when some international travel restrictions are likely to ease here.

Image credit: Want To Create

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

You May Also Like