Queensland Is Closing Its Border To All Of NSW As Of 1am Tomorrow

By Ioana Dragnef
22nd Jul 2021

The escalating COVID situation in NSW is not looking like it’ll end anytime soon, which is why this morning Acting Premier Steven Miles announced that Queensland will be closing its borders to NSW, in addition to Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia, and Tasmania. 

The Queensland government has announced that NSW will remain a declared hotspot for four weeks, with a possible earlier review depending on how the outbreak is developing. 

Border restrictions will come in place once again starting 1:00am tomorrow, Friday 23 July and border checkpoints will once again be reinforced; however, residents in the border zone will be able to come into Queensland for essential reasons, including healthcare, work, education, essential shopping and caring for vulnerable people. Any Queensland residents returning from non-border zone locations around NSW will need to complete the mandatory 14 days in hotel quarantine.

Masks will also need to be worn for seven more days in 11 south-east Queensland council areas but it was announced that other social distancing restrictions would be relaxed.

In the meantime, make the most out of a staycay with the best Airbnbs in Queensland.

Image credit: Unsplash

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

You May Also Like