Put Away Your Hiking Boots, These Queensland National Parks Are Now Closed

By Claire Plush
2nd Apr 2020

queensland national parks closed

In a twist that’ll sadden many a bushwalker and solitude-seeker, some of Queensland’s major national parks have now been closed due to coronavirus. 

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk made the announcement earlier today, that a number of national parks and 4WD areas across the state will be closed officially, as of Friday 3 April. 

Those parks and forests to be closed include the following:

Sunshine Coast Region

  • Beerburrum East State Forest, specifically Coochin Creek
  • Beerwah State Forest, specifically Glass House Mountains Lookout
  • Bribie Island Recreation Area, including Main Beach, Ocean Beach and lagoons
  • Cooloola Recreation Area, including Teewah Beach and Double Island Point
  • Kondalilla National Park, including day use area and the rock pools walk
  • Mapleton Falls National Park, specifically the lookout
  • Mount Coolum National Park, specifically the Summit Track
  • Noosa National Park, including Laguna Lookout, Noosa day use area, Noosa Coastal Walking Track

Around Brisbane Region

  • Crows Nest National Park, day use area
  • Main Range National Park, including The Crest day use area

Gold Coast Region

  • Springbrook National Park, including Gwongorella, Natural Bridge, Purlingbrook Falls
  • Tamborine National Park, Cedar Creek Falls Section

For more updates on what the current lockdowns across Australia mean for you, click here

Image credit: Chris Fuller

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

Get our top stories direct to your inbox.

You May Also Like